You are here

Nicaragua ratifies Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA)

Nicaragua has become the eleventh WTO member to ratify the Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA). The newly appointed Nicaraguan Ambassador to the WTO, Hernán Estrada Román, presented the instrument of acceptance of the TFA to the Director-General, Roberto Azevêdo on 4 August.

The TFA will only enter into force once two-thirds of the WTO membership has formally accepted the Agreement. In addition to Nicaragua, the following members have ratified the Agreement: Trinidad and Tobago, the Republic of Korea, Hong Kong China, Singapore, the United States, Mauritius, Malaysia, Japan, Australia and Botswana.

  • Amb. Hernán Estrada Román from Nicaragua presents his credentials, as well as Nicaragua's instrument of acceptance of the Trade Facilitation Agreement to DG Azevêdo.